Southern Methodist University

Southern Methodist University

Dallas , United States
  • 49
    Acceptance Rate
  • 11824
  • 91
    Employment Rate
  • Permit


SMU was founded in April 17, 1911 by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South—now part of the United Methodist Church—in partnership with Dallas civic leaders. However, it is nonsectarian in its teaching and enrolls students of all religious affiliations. The university grants degrees from eight schools; Edwin L. Cox School of Business, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, Dedman School of Law, Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering, Algur H. Meadows School of the Arts, Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies, Perkins School of Theology, Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development; as well as a Master of Interactive Technology (MIT) in Digital Game Development from SMU Guildhall.

Entry requirements

  • High school completion 
  • Official TOEFL scores
  • Official SAT/ACT scores (SAT/ACT optional for any student who graduates high school abroad)

Scholarship & funding

The university offers scholarships and financial aid. For more information


Student life

SMU's residence life