National University of Singapore

National University of Singapore

Singapore , Singapore
  • 85
    Acceptance Rate
  • 17
    Available Programs
  • 35908
  • 37950
    Average Cost
  • 81
    Employment Rate
  • Permit


The National University of Singapore (NUS) was formed with the merger of the University of Singapore and Nanyang University on 6 August 1980. This was done in part due to the government's desire to pool the two institutions' resources into a single, stronger entity and promote English as Singapore's main language of education. The original crest of Nanyang University with three intertwined rings was incorporated into the new coat-of-arms of NUS. NUS began its entrepreneurial education endeavours in the 1980s, with the setting up of the Centre for Management of Innovation and Technopreneurship in 1988. In 2001, this was renamed the NUS Entrepreneurship Centre (NEC), and became a division of NUS Enterprise. NEC is currently headed by Wong Poh Kam and its activities are organised into four areas, including a business incubator, experiential education, entrepreneurship development and entrepreneurship research. Today, NUS has 16 faculties and schools across three campus locations in Singapore – Kent Ridge, Bukit Timah and Outram – and provides a broad-based curriculum underscored by multi-disciplinary courses and cross-faculty enrichment.

Entry requirements

A-Level Applicants:

H2 Mathematics and H2 Physics

International Baccalaureate Applicants:

HL Mathematics and HL Physics

Applicants presenting international qualifications may apply with equivalent high school results.

English proficiency proof is needed. Minimum scores are:

IELTS 6.0,



Scholarship & funding

Scholarships are available for freshmen international students. For more information

Student life

Check out this video to get a glimpse of the exciting and vibrant life that NUS students enjoy!